Friday, September 15, 2017

Doctoral Candidate Adam Blood Kicks off Communication Studies' 17-18 Colloquium Series

Doctoral Candidate Adam Blood kicked off Communication Studies' 17-18 Colloquium Series September 13. The presentation, titled Arguing About Threats to Loyalty in the Internet Age, featured a discussion on his work with Dr. Ron Lee on loyalty in the age of terror. 

Friday, September 1, 2017

Dr. Dawn O. Braithwaite Receives Samuel L. Becker Award

Dawn O. Braithwaite, Willa Cather Professor and Chair of the Department of Communication Studies, will be awarded the National Communication Association Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a lifetime of outstanding service to the Association and to the profession. The Award is presented to the person judged to have made the greatest contribution to the association and to the profession during her or his career in research, teaching, or service. In most cases, the individual selected will have made outstanding contributions in all three areas. Braithwaite was the President of the National Communication Association in 2010 and the Western States Communication Association in 2009.

Dr. Braithwaite’s nominator wrote, “Dr. Dawn O. Braithwaite is an ideal (if not, quintessentially the best) person for this award because of her exceptional service to NCA, her extensive number of service roles, and her ways of making a qualitative difference in the discipline. Her impressive record of service extends to multiple associations and goes in tandem with her scholarship and leadership in the profession. I believe she embodies the spirit and the values of this prestigious honor.”

Dr. Casey Kelly's "Abstinence Cinema"

Image may contain: text

Congratulations to Dr. Casey Ryan Kelly, Associate Professor of Communication Studies, joining the faculty in Fall 2017. His newest book, Abstinence Cinema (Rutgers University Press), has been included on the National Communication Association’s Bookshelf, offering profiles of new and notable books written by Communication scholars. Dr. Kelly's book won the National Communication Association Visual Communication Division’s 2016 Diane Hope Book of the Year Award.